My Camino – From Ponferrada to Villafranca del Bierzo

My Camino – From Ponferrada to Villafranca del Bierzo

It’s much warmer this morning so I leave my ski underwear in my backpack. At 7 Sandra and I start our hike. I have problems to get in the flow today. My Achilles tendon aching. It takes almost half an hour until you can call it walking, not limping what I am doing.

Then I walk faster, leave Sandra behind and do the hike today by myself. It is the first time, that moments of thinking of something else than the pain and the wish of the end of this hike, come up. I can even enjoy the walk. It smells like rosemary. I pick three branches and take them with me. Maybe we can make fried rosemary potatoes tonight.

The track isn’t as beautiful as other trails, but still very varied. Half the day I walk along a road and pass a lot of small villages. I take a break in two of them and have some baguette, a few nuts and an apple. I apply some pain-killer cream to my Achilles tendon and some cortisone cream to my mosquito bite. Like always starting to walk again after a break is horrible. I almost can’t move and it takes minutes to change that. The sun comes out and it’s getting warmer.

The last 8 km (5 mi) seem to never end, although the trail is beautiful. It leads through the wine growing area of bierzo. And thus it goes up the hill and down the hill again. On the trail I get to know an older woman from Washington, who is doing the camino from Saint Jean. She started only two days earlier than the others. Respect! She asks, if I am ok and I tell her about my aching Achilles tendon. She tells me, that a pilgrim stepped on her toe and her toe nail broke into several pieces. But she is feeling better. She is wearing two different shoes, but not because of the toe nail, but because of her arthrosis. She’s got two different shoe sizes and there was no other way than to buy two different shoes.

The last 4 km (2.5 mi) it’s limping again, what I am doing down the hill. Luckily the albergue is just at the end of the hill. I wash up a bit in the ice-cold shower and wash mit underpants and socks. Then I make my siesta.

The rest of the day I spent on the terrace and sort photos and write. Then also the other wake up and keep up their diaries. Then we go to the city centre. I need more ibuprofen, tape, baguette and fruits. For dinner we will make noodles with pesto, because there are no pans in the albergue. So the rosemary potatoes will have to wait until tomorrow.

[cml_media_alt id='6853']http://www.blueberryvegan.com/mein-jakobsweg-von-ponferrada-nach-villafranca-del-bierzo/[/cml_media_alt]

[cml_media_alt id='6854']http://www.blueberryvegan.com/mein-jakobsweg-von-ponferrada-nach-villafranca-del-bierzo/[/cml_media_alt]

After our dinner we sit outside and Sam from Belgium and Jonas from Denmark create songs with the ukulele. The lyrics are hilarious: They sing the text on the black pepper mill and the vinegar bottle. We can’t stop laughing.

See you tomorrow!

Love,

Rina

2 Comments

  1. Petra Janke
    Sunday September 18th, 2016 / 05:12 PM

    Wunderschöne fotos! Beeindruckend auch wen man so trifft und alle haben so ihre probleme! Ich hoffe, es gibt einem so ein bisschen das Gefühl von geteiltem Leid und geteilter Freude, oder? Schön, dass du es such geniessen kannst.

    • Rina
      Author
      Monday September 19th, 2016 / 03:14 PM

      Genau so ist es. Ich genieße die gemeinsamen Abende sehr. Aber ich mag es auch tagsüber allein zu wandern, um die Schönheiten der Natur nicht zu verpassen, während ich versuche, den anderen hinterher zu hechten.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Looking for Something?

Wärmende Suppen und Eintöpfe

[:de]Mein Jakobsweg – Von Ponferrada nach Villafranca del Bierzo[:en]My Camino – From Ponferrada to Villafranca del Bierzo[:]

[:de]Mein Jakobsweg – Von Ponferrada nach Villafranca del Bierzo[:en]My Camino – From Ponferrada to Villafranca del Bierzo[:] [:de]Heute Morgen ist es gleich schon viel wärmer als gestern, sodass ich die Ski-Unterwäsche im Rucksack lasse. Gegen 7 machen Sandra und ich uns auf den Weg. Ich habe heute morgen richtig Probleme in Gang zu kommen. Die Achillessehne tut verdammt weh. Erst nach einer halben Stunde kann man das, was ich da tue nicht mehr humpeln, sondern sowas ähnliches wie gehen nennen.

Bald bin ich Sandra davon gelaufen und laufe fast die gesamte Etappe alleine. Zum ersten Mal habe ich zwischendurch auch mal Momente, in denen ich nicht nur an meinen Körper denke und hoffe, dass die Etappe bald vorbei ist, sondern kann auch den Weg genießen. Die Düfte auf dem Weg finde ich immer wieder herrlich. Heute liegt mir ganz oft der Duft von Rosmarin in der Nase. Auf dem Weg breche ich drei Zweige von einem großen Busch ab und werden den Anderen vorschlagen, Rosmarinkartoffeln zum Abendessen zu machen.

Die Strecke heute ist auf der einen Seite nicht so schön, auf der anderen Seite, aber doch sehr abwechslungsreich. Es geht fast den halben Tag immer an der Straße entlang und durch viele, kleine Dörfer. In zweien mache ich jeweils ein paar Minuten Pause und esse etwas Baguette, ein paar Nüsse und einen Apfel. Ich schmiere mir die Achillessehne nochmal mit Voltaren und den Insektenstich mit Cortisoncreme ein. Wie immer ist das Loslaufen nach einer Pause richtig schlimm. Ich kann mich kaum bewegen und brauche immer Minuten, um wieder halbwegs rund zu laufen. Die Sonne kommt raus und es wird deutlich wärmer.

Die letzten 8 km der heutigen Etappe ziehen sich mal wieder wie Kaugummi, obwohl die Strecke recht schön ist. Es geht durch das Weinanbaugebiet von Bierzo. Und dadurch natürlich auch wieder einige Meter bergauf und bergab. Unterwegs treffe ich eine ältere Dame aus Washington, die seit Saint Jean auf dem Weg ist. Gerade mal zwei Tage länger ist sie auf dem Weg als die Andern. Respekt! Sie fragt, ob es mir gut gehe und ich erzähle von meiner Achillessehne. Sie erzählt mir dann, dass ihr ein Pilger im Rückwärtsgang auf den Zeh getreten ist und dabei den Zehennagel zerteilt hat. Es gehe aber auch bei ihr schon besser. Sie hat zwei verschiedene Schuhe an, das hat allerdings einen anderen Grund: Ihre Artrose. Dadurch hat sie zwei verschiedene Schuhgrößen und musste, weil es nicht anderes ging, zwei verschiedene Schuhe kaufen.

Die letzen 4 Kilometer kann man das, was ich da tue, mal wieder nicht gehen nennen. Ich schleppe mich den Berg hinab und in die Herberge. Dort mache ich eine Katzenwäsche in der eiskalten Dusche und wasche Unterwäsche und Socken. Danach mache ich erstmal Siesta.

Den restlichen Nachmittag verbringe ich auf der Terrasse und sortiere Bilder und schreibe. Dann werden auch die Anderen wach, schreiben Tagebuch und wir gehen dann in die Stadt. Ich brauche neues Ibuprofen, Tape, Baguette und Obst. Zum Abendessen gibt es Nudeln mit Pesto, da es in der Herberge keine Pfannen gibt. Scheinbar möchten die Hospitaleros nicht, dass wir dort braten. Also müssen die Rosmarinkartoffeln noch bis morgen warten.

[cml_media_alt id='6853']http://www.blueberryvegan.com/mein-jakobsweg-von-ponferrada-nach-villafranca-del-bierzo/[/cml_media_alt]

[cml_media_alt id='6854']http://www.blueberryvegan.com/mein-jakobsweg-von-ponferrada-nach-villafranca-del-bierzo/[/cml_media_alt]

Nach dem Essen setzen wir uns noch ein bisschen nach draußen und Sam und Jonas aus Dänemark singen wieder ein paar Lieder mit der Ukulele. Die Texte sind mal wieder spontan erfunden und stammen von den Etiketten vom schwarzen Pfeffer und Essig. Wir lachen uns alle kaputt.

Bis Morgen!

Alles Liebe

Rina

[:en]It’s much warmer this morning so I leave my ski underwear in my backpack. At 7 Sandra and I start our hike. I have problems to get in the flow today. My Achilles tendon aching. It takes almost half an hour until you can call it walking, not limping what I am doing.

Then I walk faster, leave Sandra behind and do the hike today by myself. It is the first time, that moments of thinking of something else than the pain and the wish of the end of this hike, come up. I can even enjoy the walk. It smells like rosemary. I pick three branches and take them with me. Maybe we can make fried rosemary potatoes tonight.

The track isn’t as beautiful as other trails, but still very varied. Half the day I walk along a road and pass a lot of small villages. I take a break in two of them and have some baguette, a few nuts and an apple. I apply some pain-killer cream to my Achilles tendon and some cortisone cream to my mosquito bite. Like always starting to walk again after a break is horrible. I almost can’t move and it takes minutes to change that. The sun comes out and it’s getting warmer.

The last 8 km (5 mi) seem to never end, although the trail is beautiful. It leads through the wine growing area of bierzo. And thus it goes up the hill and down the hill again. On the trail I get to know an older woman from Washington, who is doing the camino from Saint Jean. She started only two days earlier than the others. Respect! She asks, if I am ok and I tell her about my aching Achilles tendon. She tells me, that a pilgrim stepped on her toe and her toe nail broke into several pieces. But she is feeling better. She is wearing two different shoes, but not because of the toe nail, but because of her arthrosis. She’s got two different shoe sizes and there was no other way than to buy two different shoes.

The last 4 km (2.5 mi) it’s limping again, what I am doing down the hill. Luckily the albergue is just at the end of the hill. I wash up a bit in the ice-cold shower and wash mit underpants and socks. Then I make my siesta.

The rest of the day I spent on the terrace and sort photos and write. Then also the other wake up and keep up their diaries. Then we go to the city centre. I need more ibuprofen, tape, baguette and fruits. For dinner we will make noodles with pesto, because there are no pans in the albergue. So the rosemary potatoes will have to wait until tomorrow.

[cml_media_alt id='6853']http://www.blueberryvegan.com/mein-jakobsweg-von-ponferrada-nach-villafranca-del-bierzo/[/cml_media_alt]

[cml_media_alt id='6854']http://www.blueberryvegan.com/mein-jakobsweg-von-ponferrada-nach-villafranca-del-bierzo/[/cml_media_alt]

After our dinner we sit outside and Sam from Belgium and Jonas from Denmark create songs with the ukulele. The lyrics are hilarious: They sing the text on the black pepper mill and the vinegar bottle. We can’t stop laughing.

See you tomorrow!

Love,

Rina

[:]

2 Kommentare

  1. Petra Janke
    18. September 2016 / 17:12

    Wunderschöne fotos! Beeindruckend auch wen man so trifft und alle haben so ihre probleme! Ich hoffe, es gibt einem so ein bisschen das Gefühl von geteiltem Leid und geteilter Freude, oder? Schön, dass du es such geniessen kannst.

    • Rina
      Autor
      19. September 2016 / 15:14

      Genau so ist es. Ich genieße die gemeinsamen Abende sehr. Aber ich mag es auch tagsüber allein zu wandern, um die Schönheiten der Natur nicht zu verpassen, während ich versuche, den anderen hinterher zu hechten.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.


Etwas suchen?